Despacito Art School, current

The Despacito Art School is a hands-on place to learn about art, craft and functional object-making. Despacito is open to young people aged 7 to 12, who live in and around Cliftonville West. They named it after their favourite 2017 summer hit.

It takes place every Wednesday afternoon, 4-6pm except during half term when we have two sessions: one from 12.30 to 2.30pm, another from 2.30 to 4.30pm. Extra days are added in July in preparation for the Margate Carnival (see below).

The Despacito participants have a say about the programme and contribute to shaping the sessions, which are led by art tutor Heather Tait, OSE associates Coral Brookes, Katie Fiore, Una Hamilton Helle and Sarah Karen, and OSE alumnus Emily Whitebread.

Current sessions / Creatures of Cliftonville:
9 May to 27 June 2018

Wednesday 9 May
Slimy creatures: learning how to make slime to create our own creatures.

Wednesday 16 May
Designing and printing T-shirts / Tai Chi: learning printing processes to make our own t’shirts. The session also explores Tai Chi techniques to think about movement and the motion of different species – something we will continue to practice in the following weeks.

Wednesday 23 May
Hackathon characters: reusing and reassembling old toys to create our own imaginary characters.

Wednesday 30 May
Kite Making: designing and constructing our own kites to fly, looking at the birds of Cliftonville to give us ideas: from seagulls, sanderlings and pigeons to parakeets.

Wednesday 6 June
Instrument Making: making our own instruments out of this week’s recycled materials to think about how different objects can create unique sounds.

Wednesday 13 June
The Art of Cooking: weigh, chop, mix and taste, thinking about cooking as a creative and sensory process, and inventing our own recipes.

Wednesday 20 June
Shadow puppets and painting with light: using digital and manual processes (e.g. card cut-outs and cameras) to think about shape and light.

Wednesday 27 June
Clay animals: modelling, building and decorating our own clay animals.

Next sessions / Margate Carnival:
4 July to 5 August 2018

Wednesday 4, Wednesday 11 July & Wednesday 18 July
Carnival School: working on large collaborative sculptures, on props and costumes using materials including recycled items.

Monday 30 July to Thursday 2 August, every day between 11am and 2pm
Carnival School: last final boost before the big day!

Sunday 5 August
Margate Carnival!

Past sessions: January to April 2018

This round of Despacito echoed the project ‘Emperor Qin’s Mausoleum‘ led by Marguerite Humeau, which ran in parallel and explored the afterlife, antiquity and space. The programme for Despacito was put together Heather Tait.

Wednesday 31 January
Who is awesome? Who do we celebrate?: create large 3d Portraits

Wednesday 7 February
Mummies: explore ‘wrapping’ methods using string, wool and other fabrics

Wednesday 14 February
Build and decorate a space rocket inspired by the LIDO Tower

Wednesday 21 February
Clay modelling: create our own terracotta army that will journey with us to the new planet

Wednesday 28 February
Build a wall: brick making from plaster of Paris and foraged items e.g. seaweed, shells, etc.

Wednesday 7 March
Chalk carving: inspired by hieroglyphics we will create our own symbolic language and carve it into the chalk

Wednesday 14 March
Metalwork: embossing and wired metalwork

Wednesday 21 March
Jewellery making: bracelets, badges and pendants using sea glass and other found items

Wednesday 28 March
Make a time capsule: what should we leave behind?

Wednesday 4 April
Candle making

Wednesday 11 April
Costume making part 1

Wednesday 18 April
Costume making part 2

Past sessions: Autumn 2017

Wednesday 4 October
Printing from drain covers
We will be making prints from drain covers and other street furniture. We will be painting onto the covers using printing ink and making prints from them. We will also experiment with rubbings and make prints of road signs and other text based street furniture.

Wednesday 11 October
T-shirt printing from drain covers

Using last weeks techniques we will make printed t-shirts for themselves

Wednesday 18 and 25 October (half term)
Giant sweetshop

We will create enlarged versions of favourite sweets as individual projects which will be put together to create a sweetshop exhibition. They will be made from cardboard and mudrock, then painted.

Wednesday 1 November
Cynotype printing using found objects

Children will be shown how to print simple cyanotypes using found objects.

Wednesday 8 November
Cyanotype printing with self portraits

Make cyanotype self portraits. Take photographic portraits and turn them into negatives using vegetable oil. These will then be turned into cyanotypes.

Wednesday 15 November
Leather making workshop

We will be making handmade, drawstring purse from pre-cut patterns. We will be sewing pieces of leather together, thread thong and adding poppers.

Wednesday 22 November
Monoprinted self portraits

Experiment with monoprinting mark making, followed by self portraits. Photographs will be taken of each child and used to make monoprints.

Wednesday 29 November
Musical instrument making from recycled materials

We will make rainsticks from cardboard tubes and dowling which we will paint.

Wednesday 6 December
Pettmans

An image of the Pettmans will be cut into equal parts and given to each child to recreate; colour in/ add things to, using drawing materials. The images will be reassembled into a whole and displayed.

Wednesday 13 December
Christmas workshop

Christmas themed decorations.