Team & Board


Ayaan Bulale, Activities and Events Manager

Ayaan is pretty much the fixer and go-getter at OSE. She is in charge of organising and running the Despacito Art School, audience development and community outreach for OSE, working as a facilitator for artists on OSE commissions and supporting the Associates with their public programming events. When she is not at OSE, she spends her time raising her daughter to be a phenomenal adult, she attends events with her Hip Hop Photo Booth and runs the social media accounts of various people and organisations.

Mark Burrell, Creative Careers Tutor

Mark teaches and supports on the YAP, helping to deliver the Creative Careers module, which is designed to enable the young people to find confidence in their abilities and help them move forward on their chosen paths. The module has a strong focus on developing communication and literacy skills and instilling a greater understanding and awareness of planning and budgeting for a creative life. Mark is a practicing artist working with painting, sculpture, print and photography. When not teaching at OSE, he can be found working from his studio in Broadstairs.

Anna Colin, Director and Co-founder

Anna’s day-to-day activities include recruiting and liaising with the Associates and the Associates Programme’s Faculty, working with the Board and the Deputy Director on strategy and the delivery of the vision, and developing programmes and partnerships. When not at OSE, she works as associate curator at Lafayette Anticipations, Paris and is a PhD candidate at the University of Nottingham, in the School of Geography.

Albert Edwards, Senior Youth Worker

Albert’s role on the Young Associates Programme is focused on pastoral care, safeguarding and ensuring that local young people know about the programme. Albert is a youth worker with over 30 years experience working in London, Thanet and East Kent, supporting and encouraging young people in all aspects of their lives, from staying in education to finding employment. He supports the wider community in a variety of ways through Carnivals and community events as well as being a local DJ and music engineer for promoters in Thanet.

Laura Owen, Head of the Young Associates Programme

Laura’s background is in art and design teaching in secondary schools and before OSE, running community education projects with Create London including Rabbits Road Press, in East London. Laura launched YAP in September 2019, she coordinates with its Faculty of artists and teachers, facilitates on the programme herself, supports with the pastoral care of the young people and is in the process of developing its curriculum and uptake of local young people for next year.

Louis Palfrey, Communications and Access Manager

Louis deals with marketing and communication. His day-to-day activities include editing content for digital and physical distribution, and ensuring that all information is accessible for a wide audience base. Louis is also in charge of documenting OSE’s events and helps to run the Despacito Art School. While not at OSE, Louis composes and produces music and sound works for solo projects, films, and podcasts.

Eni Timi-Biu, Deputy Director

Eni has designed and developed education, employment and training programmes across the charity sector with a focus on serving marginalised / underrepresented communities. At OSE, Eni manages the operations, fundraising and finance, supporting the Director and the Board on strategy and delivery of the vision. Outside of work, she is involved in anything food-related and currently runs urban-farming and dining pop-up projects.


Yemi Awosile, Designer
Robert Diament, Director, Carl Freedman Gallery, Margate
Hadrian Garrard, Director, Create London
Sarah Griffin, independent curator of applied arts (Chair)
Marguerite Humeau, artist
Sarah McCrory, Director, Goldsmiths CCA and OSE co-founder
Zoe McLeod, Partner, Counterculture Partnership LLP
Richard Morsley, Special Project Manager and Assistant Chief Executive at Chatham Historic Dockyard Trust (Treasurer)
Justin O’Shaughnessy, independent producer
Owen Watson, Director, 6a architects

Previous Board members and founding staff

Matthew Darbyshire, artist
Ryan Gander, artist
Colleen Harris, BBC reporter, presenter and producer
Colin Johnson, Associate Dean of Sciences, University of Kent
Stephanie Mclaren-Neckles, co-founder, Let’s Be Brief and twenty%extra
Emily Pethick, director, Rijksakademie
Fanny Singer, writer and independent curator
Laurence Taylor, OSE co-founder and former co-director
Sam Thorne, director, Nottingham Contemporary and OSE co-founder